I am starting this blog with hopes of getting back on track on my 2011 in 2011 Goal.

2011 kilometers in the year 2011

This seemed ambitious, yet doable. Albeit, that was several months ago. 2011 kilometers in a year should have been a little less than 40 km a week. However, it is almost JULY!

I have only completed 473 km.  For those that need help with the math – that 1537 remaining!  That is 8km a day to complete my goal.

So now, you are thinking, as am I, how am I going to accomplish this goal. That brings me to this post, which will give me a sense of accountability.  I have to do something to get back on track – 75% of the km in 50% of the year…

The Nitty Gritty:

I track the number of kilometers I run, bike, swim or walk. There is no way for this to be an exact science, but essentially – I count activities that are aerobic, those that get my blood pumping.  So, a YES to hiking, commuter biking, or walking the dog, but a big fat NO to shopping or walking down the block to Starbucks.

Figuring out the rules has proven to be much easier than going the distance. I am trusting the distance displayed at the pool, on the treadmill, and other machines at the gym and I have an odometer on my bikes. It will get a little trickier when running or walking outside, but it will work out with the help of sites like Map My Run and Google Maps (although I am thinking about getting a GPS watch, which would hold all the answers). For times when I can’t actually track the distance – I will just use my average paces. Right now, an hour of spin class will be 20 km because on average I bike about 20 km/h.

