Last week, I finished my first 10 miler. I had hopes to train for it. I was very excited, hoping that the 10-mile (16.1km) distance would be enough to encourage me to train. I began walking/running a couple times a week. I bought new shoes and talked about the race so much a few friends signed up. It did not take long for the novelty (and therefore the training) to wear off.

I was on track in April. But, life got in my way and I fell behind the 8 ball. Yet, once again, I woke up early one morning facing a very long run for which I was not prepared. With the support of my family, friends and a fancy GALLOWAY technique they call “9 and 1” (where we run for 9 minutes and then walk for 1 full minute) and then “4 and 1”, I finished. They could have finished much faster than I could, but instead they walked with me for a good portion of the uphill mile 9. I actually ran the race having just finished my 15 day set of antibiotics. Yet, I still finished only 8 minutes past my unrealistic goal of 2 hours.

Are you noticing a pattern here? Everything seems like a good idea, when you have plenty of days to train. Yet, for some reason, I have the worst trouble committing to and completing the training. I suppose that most blogs start so that the writer can hold himself or herself accountable.

 It’s almost like a fear of commitmentif I actually commit to the training – then I no longer have an excuse when I fail. Hopefully, I can make the commitment to completing this blog and therefore completing my training.

 I am running in the Baltimore Women’s Classic tomorrow. I am still nervous, even though, I know I can finish a 10 mile race. I have actually set a personal record with every race this year. I really like this trend, it has been helping me find confidence. Now I have a fear of failure; I want to finish this race in under 31 minutes.

