It was a little while ago that I decided to write this blog. I wanted to have a place to record my struggles and accomplishments as I try new things this year. This is a perfect venue to hold myself accountable for setting and reaching a goal. It makes perfect sense that just about 3 months into it, I began questioning my initial plans. It turns out the name of this blog is fitting.

I am finding motivation for running after completing my first HALF-MARATHON this past weekend.  There were tons of hills and it took me a long time – but I finished under my very realistic time goal of 3hrs with a time of 2:52.  I want to feel happy because I did complete a half-marathon.  But, it took me forever and it wasn’t enjoyable.  It was miserable because I wasn’t ready.  Just as I haven’t been writing here, I haven’t been training.  I haven’t even been running.   I have barely been walking.  Despite this, I wasn’t intimidated by an 8k Zoom through the Zoo, the day after the half.  I was channeling my classic inner thought of “this seemed like a good idea months ago”.

Each time I run a race, I wish I had prepared.  I barely ran in August or September, yet, I was pseudo-successful in my October marathon relay leg.  I thought that would provide me some motivation to train for the Annapolis half, but it didn’t.  I didn’t run, yet, somehow I manage to finish longer and longer races without preparation and thankfully without injury.

After doing some online window browsing, finding all the new gadgets and gear  that I want, but I don’t deserve…  and after reading a few blog posts, I started finding my motivation.  I went from reading about other people running to downloading a few training schedules and writing this post.

I have one more race this season.  It’s a five-miler on December 17, 2011.  My goal is no longer to finish.  My goal is to start the race feeling like I can do it.  The only way this will happen is if I run more than 5 miles between now and Dec 17.

