I get about 3 million emails from different sites about upcoming races and events.  Thank you Active, Piranha Sports, etc! I did a ton of great races in the last few years.

My favorites have been:

Super Bowl 5k wearing my Steelers Jersey;

ROAR for Autism – (Ride on for Autism Research) – I chose the 25 mile distance.

Preakness 5k with a bugle call to post and a chance to run on the Pimlico dirt track;

Pittsburgh Triathlon – I love that city!

Baltimore Running Festival – I did the last leg (7.2 mi) of the marathon relay, but it was a great event!

I liked a few other races – and might have liked them more if I had been properly prepared:

Zooma Annapolis 10k – I was running on antibiotics from a sinus infection

Annapolis Half Marathon – boy o’ boy – I was not ready for 13.1 or for those hills!

Zoo Zoom 8k – A great way to see rhinos and penguins.

If I continue to do my favorite races, my calendar fills up and I do not have room for other races.  But, do I really want to miss my favorite events?  Why do all the fun looking 2012 races happen on May 6?  Do I want to add on longer distances?  How do I add more swimming and biking events?

I certainly can’t afford to do them all; I definitely don’t have enough money.  I actually like doing these races – but sometimes, it feels like I am sacrificing other parts of my life for the training and the race.  On the other hand, forgoing the races makes training a lot less appealing.

What are some of your favorite races??  How do you choose which races to do??

