The Cherry Blossom 10 Miler.

Earlier this month – I entered the lottery for race.  I have heard that this race is incredibly fun (although D.C. can be sneakily hilly).  Basically, the 10 miles are supposed to go through the cherry trees while they are in full bloom.  I usually forget about the race, until I see people talking about getting ready for it, and by that time, it is far to late to sign up.   This year, I checked the site just in the nick of time.  Of course, it didn’t hurt that the entire entry was via lottery and you had 9 days to do it.  I didn’t have to fight everyone who started registering the moment it opens. You could sign up in groups – but that only meant, your whole group would run or no one would run.  I didn’t get that excited, because I didn’t think I would make it.  But, I did. 

I WON THE LOTTERY – and I have been officially registered!

Yikes, now I really need to start training!

Now, I am a little intimidated.  For one, they will kick you off the course and drop you to the 5k.  I have already finished a 10 miler in less than 2hours and 20 minutes, but now there is all this pressure.  I also have been looking into doing a SwimTrek trip to the British Virgin Islands that same week, since I do not have to work.  These trips are amazing!

Well, now I have a choice and motivation to get to the gym. 

