Happy Holidays!

I am not particularly religious, although I am somewhat spiritual.  I have a mix of religions in my family history, my grandmothers were on opposite sides of the spectrum, one Catholic & the other Atheist.  Combine that with my Jewish grandfather and it is natural that my family adopted the Christmas Holiday.  I can remember a year when the stocking full of presents was taller than I was…

I love finding presents that people will enjoy.  I love watching their face when they are surprised or excited by their gift.  

No, Bah Humbug here…

Nevertheless, this is not one of my favorite holidays, and the idea of buying a present so a tree or stocking doesn’t appear empty doesn’t appeal to me.  Thankfully, no one in my family likes the consumerism part of it either…   Often our family doesn’t exchange physical presents, but celebrates through experiences…  This year, I did both; I placed a deposit down on a Swim Trek trip for my mother.

I used to have a tradition of going shopping in the early hours after the day after Christmas.  I have long since given that up, because the crowds make me nauseous…  Does anyone else do this???  I think it could be worse than Black Friday!

But, if you are brave enough, I have one piece of advice: PAY YOUR BILLS FIRST!  Once I have paid off all my bills, I am much better at sticking to my list and not overspending – mostly because I know the reality of my financial situation and I don’t like debt.  Try cash.  This year, I spent my “fancy new iPad” money registering for marathons.  

However you celebrate during this time of year: CHEERS!  I wish you happiness and fulfillment as you enter the new year…

