Yesterday, was MLK Jr. Day, so schools were closed. That gave me all morning to do laundry, walk the dog and clean up a little.

With all my excitement for the Crossfit gym, I have not been swimming, running or biking. So, I am behind on my goal and on my training. But, I am slightly addicted to Crossfit and the Workout of the Day.

At any rate, I figured that I would be sore, so I tried to fit in a run beforehand. It wasn’t a great run, i hit every red light on the way to the gym and had to fight for a treadmill, but did manage to run a little over 2 miles (it wasn’t fast – about 25 min with warm up and cool down), but it’s a start.

My Crossfit buddy and I planned on going to out first real class at 1230. We thought there would be less people and it would be easier to be a newbie.

Boy, oh boy, were we wrong.
The WOD:

Back Squat 5-5-5-5-5 reps

Tabata Kettlebell Swing + Tabata Double Unders

If that sounds Greek to you, then you know exactly how I felt when I read the board. I thought: I just spent 4 hours in a class we didn’t learn anything about a back squat or a toboggan, I mean winnebago, I mean WHAT?!?

But, the coach was amazing and so was another newish girl who joined our little group. In addition, the coach we met on our first free day was there and very encouraging. They should us the proper technique, watched as we increase the weight an gave pointers on form.

I amazingly warmed up with 5 reps with a 35lb bar. My first set was with 55lbs and I was able to keep increasing my 5lbs. So, it was 5 reps at 55, 60, 65, 70 and 75!!!!

It was so hard, but I did it.

Then we moved onto the toboggan workout. A tabata is 20 seconds on with 10 seconds off times 8. First kettle ball swings and then the jump rope. We counted our lowest rep each.

I could only do about max 8 or 9 kettle ball swings and by the 4th round, I had to switch to a lighter weight. My lowest was 6.

I am new to jump rope. I can’t fathom a double under. But, I did ok – mostly about 25-30 singles in 20 seconds. But, my lowest was 23.

I was feeling a little discouraged, but everyone was so encouraging – saying I’m glad you guys came back and this was your first one and you made it!

I did make it. I didn’t die. And I feel stronger. I am a little sore, so I didn’t get my swim in today… But it really feels good. It has been a long time since I felt the effects of a workout a day or two later.

I need to remember to do a before shot to compare to the later shot down the road.

