Baltimore was hit with an impressive 8 inches of snow, which basically shuts down the entire city.  And definitely shut down my gym and my spa – so both my workout and massage were cancelled (I know, I know… first world problems).  I love the snow, so I was ready to play.  I took the dog for a walk. I shoveled my walk and my neighbor’s walk.  I dug out my car.  I was definitely going a little stir crazy. I watched A LOT of Showtime.  I managed to do a little cleansing and prepared a bag or two to take to the thrift store.   

 

Thank goodness that when work was closed again the second day, the rest of the world still came to life.

The gym was open.  There is something very satisfying about sleeping in and still being able to check off a nice swim work out before 11am.  I wasn’t sure that I was going to make it.  I tried for 2000m, which would be 400m more than my first swim of the year.  I wanted to quit at about 14oom, but pushed through it and swam a full 1700m.  The great thing about the 50m, is once you start the lap, you have to swim the whole 100.  The worst thing about the 50m lane, is that  is once you start the lap, you have to swim the whole 100m.  I finished that 17th lap with very little gas.  Although, I was a little disappointed that I didn’t make 2000m, it was a great feeling to know that I had given it all I got.

Then I topped of day 2 of snow with a flat tire.  I did, however, manage to get in a decent arm workout changing it myself (well mostly).  I think when you add that to the shovel work, it counts.

